CMI St. Xavier's Province

CMI St. Xavier’s Province, Rajkot is one of the mission provinces of the CMI Congregation. This province is spread over Rjakot, Jamnagar, Devbhoomi Dwaraka, Surendranagar, Morbi and Kutch civil districts of Gujarat. And its head office is in Kakanad, Kochi, Kerala, India.

As the Jesuit Vice-Province of Ahmedabad, to whom the Ahmedabad Diocese had been entrusted from its erection in 1948, was unable to provide the personnel to manage this vast territory, and to meet the increasing demands on all fronts, an invitation was made to the Congregation of Carmelites of Mary Immaculate (CMI) of the Syro-Malabar Rite, to take up work in this Diocese.

An agreement was made between the former Bishop Edwin Pinto SJ of Ahmedabad and the CMI Prior General that certain areas of Ahmedabad Diocese should be handed over to the CMI with full responsibility for their apostolate, with a view to erecting a new Exarchate or Eparchy when the Holy See so decided.

Since 1972, the CMI Fathers have been working in these areas, which have since been formed into the separate Diocese of Rajkot  in 1977. Mar Jonas Thaliath CMI was appointed the first Bishop of Rajkot.  He was ordained Bishop on May 11, 1977 and was installed on June 19, 1977.  Bishop Jonas was called to his eternal reward on November 7, 1981.  Fr Victorian Kunneparampil CMI shouldered the administration of the Diocese until Mar Gregory Karotemprel CMI was ordained the second Bishop of Rajkot on April 24, 1983.

This entire mission territory was entrusted to the Sacred Heart Province of the CMI Congregation in 1978 and was called Rajkot Mission. It was raised to the status of a Region in 1981 and was named St. Xavier's Region.  In 1985 the civil districts of Amreli and Bhavnagar, and in 1987 the district of Junagadh were entrusted to St Joseph's Province (Kottayam) of the CMI and was called Chavara Sub-Region. In 1993 St. Xavier's Region was made a Vice-Province. In the year 2003, it was raised to the status of a full-fledged Province.